Calxa subscription owners and co-owners alone can invite users to access their subscription. Once a user is invited the owner or co-owner can then set that user's specific workspace and business unit permissions.

This help note describes how to set workspace user permissions.


  1. You set permissions for a workspace user after you have invited them. By default they are set up with no access. To set permissions click on Users.



  2. Find the user you want to set permissions on. Click on the ellipsis to the right of their name and select Set permissions from the drop-down.



    You can also click on the pencil icon next to an organisation to edit permissions for a user you've set permissions on previously.



  3. First select the workspace where you want to set user permissions from the drop-down.



  4. There are two types of permissions you will need to set for each user within a workspace, and they are called workspace and organisation specific permissions. The Workspace Permissions are listed below. To enable each feature click on the toggle next to the name and it will turn green.
    1. Edit Account Trees: when enabled a user can edit or create account trees on any organisation in the workspace.
    2. Edit Financial Settings: when enabled a user can edit all Financial Settings (such as GST, Wages & PAYG, Cashflow Settings) for any organisation in the workspace.
    3. Edit Custom Report Templates: when enabled a user can edit or create a custom report template via the report designer.
    4. Edit Report Bundles: when enabled a user can edit or create all report bundles in the workspace.


      Note: Giving a user full access to an organisation as shown in 5. below will not give the user access to the workspace features above. They must be enabled via the Workspace Permissions.


  5. Click Full Access if you want the user to have full access to all organisations in the chosen workspace.

    Full access will allow them to update the organisations and gives them full budgeting and reporting permissions. Note only subscription owners and co-owners can add organisations and invite users to a workspace. Click on Set Permissions.



  6. If you want to make a user a Subscription Co-owner or Free Adviser go back to the main Admin screen, click on the ellipsis to the right of the user's name, and select Change user type from the drop-down.

    A Subscription Co-owner has full access and can add organisations and invite users to all workspaces. A Free Adviser has full budgeting and reporting access but cannot add organisations or invite users. See the Invite a User help note for further details. *The Free Adviser is not available yet but is coming soon.



    Select Subscription Co-Owner and click on Change User Type.



  7. Click Set Permissions as in 2. above then Partial Access to restrict the user's access to specific organisations, business units or reporting only in the workspace.



  8. Now set the permissions for each organisation in the workspace. You may set different permissions for each organisation (Full Access, Partial Access or No Access). 
    1. Go to where the organisations are listed. There is a drop-down next to each organisation name with the options Full Access, Partial Access, No Access.
      1. To give a user Full Access or No Access to an organisation simply select those options from the drop-down.



      2. To give a user Partial Access click on the 2nd drop-down to the right of the organisation name. This will expand out the organisation to show all the business unit levels.



      3. Click on the drop-down next to each business unit level to set permissions on that level.

        You can assign Edit & Report, Report Only or No Access at the organisation level business unit.


        Note: Edit & Report allows a user to edit budgets and run reports.


      4. At the business unit levels below organisation you can assign Edit & Report, Report Only, Partial Access and No Access.


      5. When you select Partial Access the business unit names at that level will be displayed below it. You can then choose Edit & Report, Report Only, Partial Access and No Access for each business unit. 

        Note: You will only see Partial Access as an option when the selected business unit has business units that sit below it (i.e. when it is a business unit header).


        Note 2: Business unit access has been set up to be cascading. This means that if you select Edit & Report at the Project level as shown above, the user will have this access on all project items below it, and as any new business units are added to the file they will automatically be assigned the same access.


      6. Let's look at an example where we will select Partial Access at the Project level. It will expand out to show us the project headers, and from here we can click the drop-down to assign Edit & Report, Report Only, Partial Access and No Access.



      7. When we select Partial Access on one of the project headers it will expand further to show us the individual projects under this header.



      8. The green buttons next to the individual projects represent Edit Budgets and Reporting permissions.

        Edit Budgets icon:Reporting icon: 
      9. Click on the Edit Budgets and Reporting buttons to enable or disable permissions for each. When the icon is green the feature is enabled, when it's red it is disabled. Note: When Edit Budgets is selected the user will automatically have access to Reporting as well.

        In the example below the user has Reporting access only for project 200L, and Budgeting and Reporting access for project 200Q.



      10. When you have finished setting permissions on the first organisation in a workspace, go on to review and set permissions on any other organisations you may have in the workspace. You will need to repeat this process for all workspaces and organisations where access is needed. Note: new users are set up with no access by default, so you will only need to update permissions on workspaces/organisations you want a user to have access to.


      11. Click on Set Permissions when you are finished.