Calxa can be used with a number of different accounting packages and integrates with these packages in different ways. Aside from your initial company setup and subsequent updates, Calxa behaves in much the same way regardless of the chosen accounting package. There are, however, some important differences that need to be noted. 


This help note will outline the things you should know about using Calxa with Xero and discuss best practices for a smooth integration. 


Accounts


Reports made available to the Xero API reference accounts on a key rather than the account number or name. This means you can safely renumber or rename accounts in Xero and Calxa will apply the new number and or name after the next sync. 


Deleting an account in Xero will also delete it in Calxa on the next sync. All budgets and settings associated with the account will also be deleted.


If you archive accounts in Xero then Calxa will mark these accounts as inactive. Inactive accounts are filterable from many views in Calxa. 

 

Opening Balances 


During the initial import Calxa will set up account opening balances as obtained from the conversion balances in Xero. If no conversion balances are found then the first period with actual data is configured as the opening balances. 


Future organisation syncs will not affect the opening balances, so changes made to conversion balances in Xero will not be reflected in Calxa. For this reason do not adjust conversion balances or add transactions dated before the conversion balances in Xero. 

 

Business Units


Business units in Calxa represent your Xero Tracking Categories. Business units in Calxa are called Projects and Departments, so each of your Tracking Categories types will be assigned these names. Business unit names will soon be configurable via the General Settings screen.


Calxa references each Xero Tracking Category on a key rather than the name. This means you can safely rename Tracking Categories and Calxa will apply the new name after the next sync.


Deleting a Tracking Category in Xero will also delete it in Calxa on the next sync. All budgets and settings associated with the Tracking Category will also be deleted. 


A Tracking Category can't be deleted in Xero if there are transactions associated with it. In this case Xero will suggest marking it as Archived. Calxa will mark Archived Business Units as Inactive after the next sync. 


Note: There is no restriction in Xero for adding a new Tracking Category with the same name as an Archived one. After the next sync Calxa will treat Tracking Categories with the same name as the same Business Unit and sum the values in both.

 

Budgets

When you initially add a Xero organisation, Calxa will give you the option to import the Xero Overall budget (Organisation level). The Xero API does not provide access to the Tracking Category budgets, however. You can get your Tracking Category budgets into Calxa by exporting them from Xero and importing them to Calxa via spreadsheet.


If you didn't import your budgets to Calxa when you added your organisation, you can still choose to do this anytime you sync your organisation by adjusting your sync settings on the General Settings screen.  This is also where you can turn the budget sync off to manage your budget in Calxa going forward.


Note: Budgets cannot be updated from Calxa back to Xero.